About to dip for the first time

Got a week off work, trying to paint as many models as possible, hmm, why don’t I try the ‘dipping’ technique. This is my first attempt just to check colours etc, but I’ll let you know how it went.

For those that don’t know, dipping is where you basecoat a model the rough colour you want it and then paint in the detail with little or no highlighting. You then ‘dip’ the model into anything that will stain (i.e. wood stainer) the model. What this will do will give the impression of depth (exactly the same as when you wash it). There are a hundred methods and products, so it probably best doing a google search for more.

Its not the amazing army painter that you think it might be, but it does get gaming standard models on the table quicker.

I’ll post more later.

6 responses to “About to dip for the first time

  1. Hey, me too…
    I just ordered some “dipping” stuff and I’m going to see how it goes myself.

    I’m interested in seeing your results when you post them. I am just starting out and I’m going to have to feel my way through this technique slowly until I can get a handle on it.

  2. I just kinda dived straight in. I figured that whatever happened I’d at least have a painted army.

    As it happens it worked out really well. The terracotta spray has ‘bits’ in it but from a distance you’d never notice. The varnish is what we used to do some wood in our house, its worked out to be the perfect finish.

    I think the only problem I’ve had so far is that when using the spray, you tend to lose some of the detail, especially on plastic, but when you dip the depth you get makes up for it. But I digress because thats the spray not the dipping.

    I’m going to try and get some pictures up tonight.

  3. Good deal, did you have to be careful what base colors you used knowing that you were going to be using a dip method to shade them?

  4. As its my lizardmen, I’ve always wanted them terracotta, or a similar colour. Any brown, yellow or red will look good dipped because most of the time you’ll be using a brown dip which works well with these colours.

    I know blue can be dipped but you need to be quite careful. There is an army painter dip that you can buy whihc is better than wood varnish.

    Green I have no idea about, according to my research it comes out a bit dirty looking. See, I did do some research before hand.

    The other colours, well I’m mainly using brass which comes out well and bleached bone for claws and teeth looks awesome.

    The shadow blue for the spear shaft is painted on afterwards. Maybe this wasn’t the best idea as it looks a bit too bright but its a bit late for that (or later on I could paint the varnish on).

    The scales I have left the same colour as the body on the saurus. For skinks and other stuff I’ll do the scales shadow grey as well.

    I was going to put some pictures up but managed to delete them. Doh.

  5. You’re better off thinning the dip first, then brushing it on like you would a wash. It makes the shading much more subtle and realistic. It also doesn’t end up being super-thick on your models and obscuring detail (and keeps you from having to use the “flick” method to remove excess dip) and it keeps your highlights brighter.

  6. Thanks for the tip. I’ve spent ages using a smaller brush to remove the excess and this would make it a bit easier.

    Having ‘painted’ it on and dipped it, I think that painting it on is easier on all models except the skinks as it just seems to drip straight off them. I imagine this is the size and shape of the model.

    If you read a comment in my later post (lizardmen dipped pictures) you’ll see that I’ve kind of got round the problem of the dip darkening the scales by highlighting before dipping. This then creates a problem by having some of the models with different scales.

Leave a Reply

