Update and a rant

My blogging holiday is finally over. I have returned!

 

The last two months have been pretty hectic for me. A small deal has been struck with a mate, I get part of his Orc and Goblin army in exchange for painting up his 2000pt chaos army. Work hasn’t progressed as fast as I wanted as he needs it ready for two weeks time when 4 of us (Me, Carlos, Rhinehard and one of the Gavs) goes down to the Bristol Brawl.

 

Regular readers will remember I went to the Brawl last year and didn’t place as high as I could have due to my army not being painted very well (a loss of about 15 tournament points from where it should have been) and a late minute army list change due to none of my slaves being finished (another 15 point loss). This meant I effectively lost most of the points for my two wins.

 

This year though, I’m gunning for best sportsman award. I’m pretty happy I was one point under what was need to win (three others rolled off for the price) considering I didn’t pick up any of the ‘mates’ sportsmanship points that most people can at least hope for.

 

This year I’ve ditched the skaven (who have retired to a large black carry case under my painting table until the new book comes along) and decided to take warriors. Daemons were an option but didn’t want to end up in a high banding and just face other daemons and as the lizard book hadn’t been released when the lists were submitted it was the older book that was to be used. I don’t mind the old book, but the armies that can be created from the new book are more exciting. Anyway, warriors it was.

 

Meanwhile, we’ve had a new lizardmen book which I’m liking the look of. The changes seem to be pointing towards being able to build some quite different lists, along the lines of both dark elves and warriors (to a lesser extent). Lists aside, the person that proof read the book should be put in a sausage maker and fed to wild boar. What the hell is a Magwe priest? Can he take the same items as a Mage priest? Maybe a FAQ will clarify what a Magwe priest is?

 

We’ve also had a new FAQ for both the core rules and the warrior’s book. In my opinion the warriors FAQ was probably the better one we’ve had over the past year but lacking substantially. I understand Games Workshops view of the hobby that it should be for fun, played with a few mates over some beers/pizza/Doritos/whatever and agree with it, but they also need to remember that there are instances where you want to have a more competitive game, or play a pickup game with someone you’ve never met before.

 

Writing a FAQ that contradicts another FAQ or the main rules just isn’t going to help. Sure the witty comments can be funny when reading the document and I don’t have a problem with these at all, but just make sure the rules are consistent. Even a friendly game can be spoilt when your FAQ states Magic Resistance works very much differently to your opponents (Tomb Kings casket of souls MR question is well and truly trumped by later MR Q&A’s). Don’t even get me started on GW’s house rules for tournaments.

 

Anyone wanting to rant and offload their FAQ feelings, feel free to comment below.

 

Next time…..My Bristol Brawl list goes under the spotlight.

 

Leave a Reply

